National Championship: Mornington

The 2018 Flying 15 National Championship out of Mornington Yacht Club on Port Philip Bay have been completed with Matt Owen and Andrew Reed from Canberra Yacht Club this year’s Champions.  WA’s John Wilson and Matt Summers completed a great regatta to finish second with the Rainey brothers from Gippsland third.

Read a full report here.


1 AUS4023 Cool Change – Matt Owen/Andrew Reed – 2,1,1,2,1,1,(8),(12) = 8pts
2 AUS3989 FFast – John Wilson/Matthew Summers – (12),6,2,3,2,4,(21),7 = 24pts
3 AUS3880 Where the bloody hell – Craig/Ian Rainey – 9,5,7,(20),4,6,1,4 = 27pts
4 AUS4007 FF – Sue Thompson/Cameron Taylor – 3,3,4,(9),6,3,(11),(24) = 28pts
5 AUS4053 Phar Lap – David Swan/Matt Elliot – 6,8,3,(10),5,5,(9),2 = 29pts
6 AUS3972 Sake – Ashley Smith/Adam Kingston – 5,7,(11),1,8,11,3 (36OB) – 35pts

Diary updates

Some dates for the diary.  2018 State Championships will be hosted by SoPYC over the Easter Weeked – March 30 to April 1.

Dates for the Walkabout Series are as follows:

Sunday 24/9 SoPYC Pre-season regatta

Saturday 4/11 RFBYC Melville Water West races

Sunday 26/11 SoPYC  Tally Hobbs regatta

Saturday 3/2 RFBYC Melville Water West races

Saturday 17/2 RFBYC Short races club line

Easter 30/3- 1/4 SoPYC – State Championships

The NOR of Race for the 2018 National Championship to be hosted by Mornington Yacht Club in Victoria has been posted here.